|Columbia University Archives|
At a Glance
This collection contains correspondence, bulletins, reports, budgets, and off-prints from 1879. It contains early correspondence between the founders of the school and President Butler, and correspondence of the deans and founders of the Ware and Avery libraries. The post-1930 records consist of alumni newsletters, bulletins, and press releases.
Using the Collection
Rare Book and Manuscript Library
Restrictions on Access
Material is unprocessed. Please contact email@example.com for more information.
There are no restrictions on this collection.
This collection is located off-site. You will need to request this material at least three business days in advance to use the collection in the Rare Book and Manuscript Library reading room.
Terms Governing Use and Reproduction
Single photocopies may be made for research purposes. The RBML maintains ownership of the physical material only. Copyright remains with the creator and his/her heirs. The responsibility to secure copyright permission rests with the patron.
About the Finding Aid / Processing Information
Columbia University Libraries, Rare Book and Manuscript Library
Collection-level record describing unprocessed material made public in summer 2018 as part of the Hidden Collections initiative.
History / Biographical Note
Biographical / Historical
A course in architecture was proposed for the School of Mines in the 1870s. The School of Architecture started as a separate and unique department within the University structure in 1902.